Drunk drivers forever change the lives of Floridians. These needless injuries have devastating consequences for victims and their families, costing them financially, physically, and emotionally. Knowing when most DUI arrests occur can help drivers remain more diligent on the roads.

If you or a loved one has been injured by an impaired driver in West Palm Beach, you have formidable advocates willing to fight for your recovery. Contact a West Palm Beach car accident lawyer immediately to begin the healing process and receive the support you need.

when do most dui arrests occur

What time of year do most DUIs happen?

Florida is a popular vacation destination where individuals come to relax, let go of worries, and take some time away from the daily grind. However, with this enjoyment often comes an increased use of alcohol and DUI arrests. It is beneficial to ask when most DUIs are given out and when to hire an attorney after a car accident.

As a whole, Florida has historically experienced a rise in DUIs during March, according to news sources. This rise in drinking and driving may likely be attributed to the many springbreakers who flock to Florida annually. A DUI can be costly for drivers and unsuspecting individuals traveling the highways.

What time of the year are most DUI arrests in Palm Beach County?

Compared with other Florida Counties, Palm Beach County’s recent incidence of DUI looks different from the state as a whole. According to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), incidents of DUI crashes dropped from January through March. April experienced a spike in DUI accidents.

The rate of DUI accidents in Palm Beach County began to climb in October, with the highest number of accidents occurring during December. Other than September, March saw fewer DUI accidents all year. West Palm Beach is a beautiful holiday destination, but a personal injury due to DUI should not impact that enjoyment.

Florida’s self-reported DUI statistics

According to the cited recent report above from FLHSMV, just over 44,000 DUI arrests were made in Florida. This staggering number reflects the dangers drivers face daily on the highway. Floridians self-report on a higher average than the rest of the U.S. that they drive after having too much to drink

As a traveler, if you’re concerned about when most DUIs occur, it will likely depend on what part of Florida you’re in. As a whole, it is a common understanding that the incidence of driving while impaired increases in the later afternoon hours into the early morning across the U.S.

Steps to take if you are impacted by a driver arrested for DUI

Florida law requires individuals to seek medical care within 14 days of an accident to claim personal insurance protection (PIP) coverage. It is imperative to determine whether your injuries qualify as serious injury in Florida to pursue a claim against the driver causing your injuries. Suppose the damages you experience meet the legal definition. In that case, you can seek a claim against the other driver’s insurance company or a personal injury lawsuit, covering all compensatory damages you suffer, such as pain and suffering.

West Palm Beach personal injury lawyers

Lytal, Reither, Smith, Ivey & Fronrath have compassionately represented injured Floridians for over 35 years. DUI inflicts some of the most damaging personal injuries in Florida, and our team will help you find your way back by securing financial compensation for you. Schedule your free consultation today online or by calling (561) 655-1990, and let us help you recover from the injuries caused by a driver arrested for  DUI.

Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.