Our Recent Settlements
Determining Fault In a Port St. Lucie Personal Injury Accident
Determining fault in Port St. Lucie personal injury accidents can be complicated, especially if more than one person is involved.
You will need to prove duty of care, breach of duty, and negligence that resulted in your injury. However, this can be challenging to do on your own. An experienced personal injury lawyer can help you determine who is actually at fault for your accident.
We will make sure that we identify the correct party and prevent their legal team from painting you as the at-fault party. Our lawyers know that even if you were partially at fault for the accident, you are still legally within your rights to claim damages from those who shared responsibility.
The Potential Impact of Comparative Fault In Florida
Florida is a comparative fault state. The law can be a bit confusing to understand if you’ve never heard the term before. Comparative negligence laws allow victims to sue for damages even if they were partially at fault for the accident that led to their injury. You can collect damages, minus the amount that you were responsible for.
For example, if you were found 10% at fault for an accident, you can collect 90% of the damages awarded.
Reasons to Choose Our Law Firm As Your Personal Injury Attorneys
We’ve been around for more than 30 years and we aren’t going anywhere. We’ve taken on big corporations and insurance companies to protect the rights of our clients and those big companies know exactly who we are. They know we won’t hesitate to take your case to trial and are more willing to negotiate because of it.
Our reputation of aggressive representation is why over 40% of our new cases come from referring attorneys and past client referrals.
Since 1985, we’ve recovered more than $2.5 billion for our clients. You can rest assured that we will earn maximum compensation for your injuries.
Personal Injury Questions and Answers
Why do I need a personal injury lawyer?
A personal injury lawyer will protect your rights from greedy insurance companies. They ensure that you receive maximum compensation and front the cost for your claim so you don’t have to.
If you have been injured due to someone’s negligence, you deserve justice.
To seek that justice, you need the best defense possible. Hire our Port St. Lucie FL personal injury attorneys today to give your case its best chance.
What do I do when an insurance company calls me about my injury?
If an insurance company – either yours or the other party’s – calls you about your personal injury, be careful. They are not calling to check on your well-being. They are calling to try to find a reason to deny your claim so they can keep the money. That means that while you are on the phone, anything you say may be manipulated against you. Even saying you are “doing well” when they ask how you are could hurt your case.
Prevent them from denying your claim, minimizing your compensation, or attributing blame to you by not speaking with the insurance company. Tell them that you will have your lawyer contact them. Even if you don’t have a lawyer, you can find one after the call who can represent your rights and protect your claim for damages.
Should I call the police at the scene of a personal injury?
You do not always need the police at the scene of a personal injury. Some situations, like car crashes, may require the police to maintain the scene and redirect traffic. Others, like slip and falls or medical malpractice, may not warrant calling the police.
Ultimately, you will need to decide if you think the police could provide any assistance at the scene. In most cases, they would not be able to help with a slip-and-fall or medical malpractice injury.
Make this determination on your own. You don’t always need a police report to file a personal injury claim.
What is a slip-and-fall in Florida?
The term “slip-and-fall” is a term for when a person slips, falls, or trips while on another person’s property due to a hazard that they were negligent in dealing with. Most slip-and-falls are a type of premises liability since the property owner did not clear the walkways of hazards that could injure guests or patrons.
How long do I have to file a lawsuit after a personal injury?
In Florida, you have a statute of limitations of four years after the date of a personal injury. This means that you must file your lawsuit with the court during this period. Otherwise, the court system will likely not hear your claim.
In rare cases, your personal injury attorney may be able to get you an extension; however, the best practice is to file on time. If you miss the deadline, you won’t be able to collect the damages that are rightfully owed to you.